Time Entry: Grid Timers

The Smart Time Grid Timers help you track your work in real time by automatically generating time entries as you work.

To start the Grid Timers module from Smart Time:

  • Click Entry > Grid Timers.

At startup, the timers are configured according to your Open Timers Settings. You can load pre-defined timers to automatically populate the grid, and then immediately start timing your work. See details below

Create new timers

Important: each timer entry you create becomes a New time entry. You must Save or Release the entries or suspend your session before leaving the Grid Timers module to retain them. See Save or Release Timer Entries and for more information.

To create a new timer entry:

  • Click + Add Row.

While you can start the timer at any time (even without defining the entry's properties), it is advisable to choose the client matter from the row's pull-downs as a first step.

To add more complete details, use the Time Entry panel:

  • Make selections for the client, matter and task fields.

Hint: Click popup.png to see the list of most recently used client matter selections or your client matter shortcuts.

  • Enter descriptive text in the narrative field.

Hint: Click popup.png to see a list of available text shortcuts.

You can save the current set of timers as a preset that you can re-load from the Settings panel, or configure the Grid Timers to start with your last set of timers loaded automatically.

Start/stop or suspend/restore timers

To start/stop the timer:

  • Click Start on the timer row to begin recording time; click Stop to end recording.

Hint: If you have already spent time on this task today without recording it in Smart Time you can pre-load the timer in the Time Entry panel.

To suspend the timer session (puts the current timers "on hold"):

  • Click Suspend on the function bar. The timer session is saved in your account in its current state. You can turn off your system without losing your new entries or their information.

To resume using the timers:

  • Log back in to Smart Time, then click Entry > Grid Timers
  • Click Restore Suspended Session from the restore button pull-down, then click again to restore the session.

Note: you can suspend a session in the Smart Time desktop version and restore it on your phone using the mobile version (and vice-versa) to resume using the timers.

Restore timers closed accidentally

If you close the Grid Timers module without suspending the session or saving/releasing the time entries you created, the entries are lost.  Smart Time conducts auto-backups (approximately every 3 minutes) as a safety net.

To retrieve the closed timer session:

  • On the Grid Timers function bar choose Restore All Timers from the restore pull-down, and then click again to restore the session.

Save or release timer entries

Each timer entry you create is new  - this means that the entry and its information is not recorded in the Smart Time database. If you close the Grid Timers module without saving or releasing them (or suspending your session), these new entries will be lost. (See Restore timers closed accidentally, above, for a remedy.)

To save or release your entries:

  • Check the boxes for the entries you want to act on, and then click Save or Release on the Grid Timers function bar.

Notes:
You can also save or release the currently-selected entry from the Time Entry pane.
You can re-start a new or saved timer entry to add more time, but you cannot re-start a released entry.

Clear, delete or remove timer entries

On the timer row in the grid:

Clear resets the timer Total to 0 elapsed time.

Delete removes the Timer entry from the database.
(You can un-delete using the main Smart Time module's User Tools > Deletes option, per your firm's archiving policy.)

Remove eliminates the entry from the grid. (If you have saved or released the entry it will be retained in the database. If it is a new entry it will be lost.)

Settings

Open Timers

The Open Timers options let you choose how you want the timer configured each time you start it:

  • With a number of blank rows
  • Pre-loaded with a number of last-used client matter entries
  • With a preset timer group (see below)
  • With the same entries used in your previous session

The elapsed time for each entry is set to 0 when you open the Grid Timers.

  • Choose the option, then click Save Settings. The next time you start the Grid Timers your settings will be applied.

Presets

A preset is a group of timers that have already been set up.

Load populates the timer grid from the preset you choose from the pull-down menu.

Hint: If the preset has entries you will not be using, click Remove on their rows. This removes them from the current session, but they remain in the preset.

Save saves the current timer set as a preset with the name shown in the pull-down menu (type a name, then click Save to save a new preset or save an existing preset under a new name).

Delete eliminates the preset from your list - you cannot retrieve a deleted preset.